Chamber Awards Dinner Saturday, October 4th

| September 18, 2014 | 0 Comments

by Ian McGaughey

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 1.43.27Mark your calendars for 6:30pm on Saturday, October 4th at the Seldovia Conference Center for the Seldovia Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Awards Community Potluck Dinner. Everyone is invited!

Congratulations to Mark Janes, the 2014-2015 Citizen of the Year.  He received nominations from the public noting his contributions on volunteer boards and committees, and for his service as coach of the Seldovia Sea Otters basketball team. Comments on the nomination forms included: “Mark does everything and he is always Santa for the school kids. He volunteers tirelessly. He serves on the SOS Board of Directors (including as president two years) and the Board of SOCC. He is head of PAC. He’s on the Booster Club. He is the local auctioneer. He cooks for almost all the school fundraiser events. In addition to being the boys basketball coach, he volunteers all the time. Most recently he took the team to Palmer for a week-long camp—on his own time! He is a great citizen, we need more people like him.”

Other nominees for the honor were Craig “Chunk” Barnard, “Sunni” Hilts, Rod Hilts, Lisa Stanish and Suzie Stranik.

The winner of Business or Non-Profit of the Year is the Seldovia Boardwalk Hotel, Pub & Grill. Owners Jeremiah and Angela Campbell were noted for the hard work they put into the renovation and opening of the hotel, as well as the excellent food and atmosphere they offer in their restaurant. The business has provided several good, dependable jobs for individuals in Seldovia.

Other local organizations nominated for Business or Non-Profit of the Year were the Crabpot Grocery and Dillon & Dillon Timber & Log Wrights, last year’s winners.

The Outstanding Community Contribution by a Young Person for 2014-2015 has been won by Chance Haller. Chance’s dedication to Seldovia Fire and EMS were noted in the nominations, as well as being a super role model for other Seldovia youth.

Other young people nominated were Aiden Philpot, Dylan Waterbury, Olivia Turner and Skylar Bond.

The election for these honors was held at a recent Chamber meeting with the public invited to vote. Thank you to everyone who made nominations and joined in the voting.

Please be sure to come and bring a dish to the potluck dinner in celebration of our winners and nominees. Let’s recognize how fortunate we are to have so many talented, giving and special people in our community!

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin says captcha_library not found.